Greek island

Kefala
Kefala Registered Users Posts: 5
Background:

I'm an English electronics engineer age 61 and run my own mail order business in England.

I live on the largest Greek island in the Mediterranean where the climate is similar to Phoenix. However, as it's an island, the weather isn't quite the same. We get a long, hot, dry summer with some humidity in July and a chilly (down to zero Centigrade - or 32 degrees Fahrenheit), mostly sunny, winter with lots of rain, snow on the mountains and occasional lightning storms. The house is 1000 feet above sea level so a tsunami is one event we don't fear!

We're on the grid (220v AC) but the cost of a unit of electricity increases according to how many we use. So reducing usage by enough to drop a "tariff" level can make a significant difference to how much we pay.

In addition, the electricity supply is somewhat unreliable in winter and we can be without it for any time between 1 minute and 8 hours. (It took 3 days to replace a transformer hit by lightning but that's an exception.)

System

I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post a link but here goes:
http://www.glodark.com/powerbright_inverter.htm

The photos show my "Power Bright APS300-12 Pure Sine Power Inverter 300 Watt 12 Volt DC To 110 Volt AC ".
I needed it to run my office computer system during periods of power outage. I mounted it in a plastic box in a shady area outside the office, with two 6V 200AH batteries (in series) and two battery chargers.

My computer is permanently connected to the 110v inverter output so, when the power goes off without warning, the system works like a large UPS.

What I'd like to do is have a couple of 170 Watt photovoltaic panels charging the batteries during the hours of sunshine, which are considerable here.

I have two problems:

1. Lack of money at present.

2. No idea how to arrange the wiring so that the battery chargers take over when the sun fails, or vice-versa.