Solar wiring questions (newb)

Options
frohickysmolder
frohickysmolder Registered Users Posts: 11
Hey I am piecing together my solar system. I started with (no knowledge and) 4 Sharp 240 watt panels. (Poly, about 38 volt.) I decided to wire them in parallel to keep the voltage the same, and bought a Morningstar MPPT-60 to cover the higher amperage. I have chosen to wire that to 5 110ah AMG batteries (i would have gotten more but i figure i could run a simple grid tie if my panels put out too much, and batteries are quite $$ as you probably know), and invert it with a 1000 watt Xantrex inverter.

I have not been able to figure out what size wire I should be using. (my research indicates 8 or 10 AWG but i dont know) I can probably get very short distances between all the equipment except the panels which will need probably 20-40 feet to get into the house. I'm not sure how to figure out wiring tho I have looked into it.

I am no electrician or carpenter but I feel pretty comfortable hooking up everything when i get around to it, tho this is my prime concern. I think I have compatible equipment, but please inform me if i dont. I know this is my first post here, but if anyone could help with proper wire sizing, perhaps it could be of value to your board. If this answer is elsewhere I'd appreciate it if you would toss me a hint.

I guess a follow up question is after reading the manuals for the equipment i have, they mention providing a set of breakers in between batteries and inverter, and in between panels and charge controller. I would assume you all agree this is necessary?