Newbie - need help with portable solar panel

monaswebs
monaswebs Registered Users Posts: 2
Hey all. Great forum!

Ok, I have to admit, I am a total newbie and don't know much about solar power. My brother is getting married soon and he likes to go camping. He has an RV that he takes out sometimes. He had mentioned that it would be great to get a "portable solar panel."

I found some info and samples, but am wondering if anyone here could provide any other advice. I am not exactly sure of the specs or anything, but I am just looking for some general advice about brands and what to look for and what to stay away from and an idea of cost.

This is what I found:
- seems like LOTS of different options here. Where do I start?

Thanks for ANY help,
Mona

Comments

• solar_dave
    solar_dave Solar Expert Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Newbie - need help with portable solar panel

Welcome to the fray! err Site! :D

You have asked the most popular loaded question! You really need to know what you are going to use it for. A couple lights? Charge the cell phone? Radio? Loads are where you start.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

It really all depends on how much power you want/need...

Those little portable systems (something like $100 for a 7 watt panel + AA/AAA battery charger + adapters) vs $265 for a 95 watt solar panel (plus some more for a charge controller, battery, wiring, etc.). They are different solutions designed to meet different requirements.

One will power a smart phone and another will power a small laptop (for example).

Here is some information for small (camper sized, not "hiker" type solar power systems):

Emergency Power

Basically a very long thread that starts from the beginning with a few vague requirements through design and assembly for a "portable" solar RE off-grid power box.

And here is another example by Mike90045 called the Solar Monolith:

attachment.php?attachmentid=384&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1234752636