Sun Extender

65DegN
65DegN Solar Expert Posts: 109 ✭✭
So what seems to be the consensus on these AGM batteries? I see some of you guys have these and I have a friend seriously considering some right now.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Sun Extender

Have you looked at the delivered cost for both types of batteries?

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

i would also recommend adding another 25% to the ah bought as concorde does derate them in their manual by 25% for temp compensation above 77 degrees f.
  • Coach Dad
    Coach Dad Solar Expert Posts: 154 ✭✭

Well... I'm far from an expert since I have ONLY been using mine for a month... But I have no complaints.
    The nice things are:
    - No Maintenance
    - No worries about outgassing causing corrosion and/or explosion
    - No 8 hr equalizing every month (I don't know how you would do that with PV anyway) My AGM's are set to Eq for 1 hr every 28 days (per concord)
    - No damage if frozen

Besides the extra cost, I can't think of a reason not to use them.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Generally, with AGM, the equalize voltage is just set to the absorb voltage (around 14.2-14.4 volts typically).

Also, AGM's do out gas electrolyte fumes and hydrogen gas--It is just if they are over charged (such as a charge controller failure) or at end of life/failure--So, it is still a good idea to have them in a well ventilated area.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • niel

caution
    do not eq your batteries as a routine or you could damage them.