Check out proposed Island system

Surfpath
Surfpath Solar Expert Posts: 463 ✭✭✭
I am building a 3 person off grid house in the Caribean. I finished constructing my dedicated 'solar' room a few months ago. I think it looks sweet. I'll have to post some photos.

I am not an electrician, and on-island DC/Solar help is limited, so I will likely install the Outback Flexpower 1-6 (a 48vDC/230VAC prewired system).

I am lucky to have both solar and hydro to power my system. I have a small stream on the property with 100' of head that will produce 150w currently (but easily 400w with larger piping). The plan is to run the hydro at night, reducing nighttime draw on the batteries. On rainy cloudy days I can also run the hydro, again minimizing drawdown. I estimate a 25% average discharge on the batteries, and will plan for only one day of both no solar & no hydro. I wish I could depend solely on the hydro, but every few dry seasons the river flow drops significantly and I would not want to rely upon it. I guess that during those times my solar panels & generator will see me through.

My estimated power needs are 4kwh a day (includes a small 1kw/day fridge & a small 1kw/day freezer). Because of my dual powered system I am thinking of a 450 amp hour battery bank (eight 6v batteries). What do you think?

I have already purchased a 6kw Yamaha generator which I hope to hook up to the Flexpower 1 as an autostart gen. I think this is one of the few generators that can interface with an Outback system without some form of additional autostart hardware.

Anyway, let the grand experiment begin!
Cheers!
Outback Flexpower 1 (FM80, VFX3048E-230v, Mate, FlexNetDC) 2,730watts of "Grid-type" PV, 370 AmpHrs Trojan RE-B's, Honda 2000 watt genny, 100% off grid.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Check out proposed Island system

Welcome to the forum.