Outback Invertors FX2524T or VFX3524?

konstantin.neo
konstantin.neo Registered Users Posts: 19
What is the difference between the two inverters besides 20.8 amps vs 29.2 amps of continuous AC?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Outback Invertors FX2524T or VFX3524?

I am no Outback expert--but from what little I know (PDF Spec. Sheet):

"V" is vented (with bug screen). Non-F is sealed with external fan for assisted cooling. The sealed units are probably derated a bit from their vented counterparts do to cooling issues with sealed units.

All of these units seem to have input frequency of 54-66 Hz--There are a few models (intended for Grid Tie?) that have very tight input frequency requirements and will not lock onto a mechanically governed genset.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

An FX2524 is a sealed unit capable of 2500 Watts maximum.
    A VFX3524 is a vented unit capable of 3500 Watts maximum. It costs about $200 more too.

Otherwise the hook-up and function is the same. The difference is that the sealed units can operate in bad environments (dusty/dirty).
  • konstantin.neo
    konstantin.neo Registered Users Posts: 19

These units accept AC from a generator right? Is it to charge the batteries on a cloudy day?
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    These units accept AC from a generator right? Is it to charge the batteries on a cloudy day?

Yes. Not a great power factor on the built-in charger, but it works well enough. I run my VFX3524 off the Honda EU2000i. For either model you will need a MATE or MATE II to adjust the programming.
  • boB
    boB Solar Expert Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭✭

The "T" at the end of FX2524T means that it is sealed (not vented) and has a Turbo fan on the top of