Circuit breakers and disconnect box.

Teapopper
Teapopper Registered Users Posts: 13
Hi all

Just won a wind turbine from an auction, this is a windmax 1000w 24v turbine with a charge controller box.
but as i am a total newbie i want to be secure with all the circuit breakers and disconnect box.

Im struggeling to understand the purpose of the circuit breakers and disconnect box, why do we need em ?, i have not found a good guide on theese, only that i need em and where to place em in a schematic.

i have tried to understand this schematic as i believe its something like this i have do connect.
https://plus.google.com/photos/103436312314613567107/albums/5478255887572895537/5478255974814853378?banner=pwa

Why so high amps on the breakers ?, and do i need 3 of em after the wind turbine if you look on the schematic in link ?
Is the 3 100 amp breakers also acting as a disconnect box in this type of setup ?
why is there a 200 amp circuit breaker behind the controller ? and why 200 amps and not 50 amps ?

Gosh, sorry if this is many questions but i just want to be safe before starting, thanx for a good forum.
Teapopper

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Circuit breakers and disconnect box.

I think the 100 amp breakers are to protect each of the three windings in the windmill If one winding has a fault, the other two could supply it with more current than the faulted winding could handle. The 200 amp breaker is to protect you from a fault in the controller. When controllers fail they often short circuit the battery (which may explode under those circumstances).
    --vtMaps
    4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i
  • RandomJoe
    RandomJoe Solar Expert Posts: 472 ✭✭✭