My Venture into Battery Back Up then into Solar one day soon.

JimMariner
JimMariner Registered Users Posts: 13
Niel's Quote from another thread. Didn't want to HyJack it.
niel wrote: »

jimmariner,
welcome to the forum. it's nice you have a good battery bank and will soon build on it, but what else do you have? pvs, controllers, inverters, etc.? what are you trying to power?

Thanks for the Welcome Niel.

I have been collecting parts for about six months now.

All El Cheapo inveters till my system grows up into something more useful. 1 1000 Watt PSW, 3 MSW's 300/600/4000 Watts. I have collected these over years of buying things that looked, useful at the time. My plans are to get an Outback or Xantrex Inverter to replace the cheaps ones I have used as toys up untill now. Most likely in the 2-3000 Watt Range. At that time, My system voltage will go to 24 Volts most likely.

As for charge controller, still in the planning stage, I am in between getting an Outback 60Amp, or the Rouge. But what ever I get will be MPPT for sure.

My Solar Panels, which are still on the wish list, Will be in the area of 600/1000 Watts total, maybe more. I live near Fort Lauderdale, FL, so my numbers for Sun exposure will be decent. I am sure I will pay in ways of Heat though.

For now I use a Progressive Dynamics 60 Amp 9200 series RV Charger/Converter, to keep my batteries alive and happy.

The Battery Bank is already in motion, as of now 4 ECG-2 Golf Cart Batteries, expanding it to 8 in the next 2 months so all the batteries are in the same age group. Going to use a 12 Volt bank for now.

Tri-Metric 2025-A for monitoring the batteries and charging systems.

ANL Fuses on the battery cables, Marine battery swtch for disconnects.

I have a 5500 Watt Generator for after hurricane back up power.

Expectations of this system, I am using it as a hobby, and Battery Back Up for power outages that happen occasionally here in South Florida.