Trying to make the most of what I have!

Etebari
Etebari Registered Users Posts: 8
I am looking for suggestions on what I can do to improve my current system. From what I can tell, I might need another charge controller to help with battery charging.
Xantrex XW-MPPT60-150
6 Phono PV Panels PS230P-20/U, currently wired 2 three panel strings, easy to change.
Xantrex Freedom 458 2500
6 Trojan L-16RE-2V batteries in series (12 Volt system) 1110 Ahrs
Total watt hours/day=2569
5.46 peak sun hours/day, from PVWatts tool
Honda 6500 eu generator

Any helpful criticism appreciated. I'm still learning.

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Trying to make the most of what I have!

Welcome, can you be a bit more specific as to what you want to add? # panels make, model?

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • Etebari

From what I can tell, the inverter is maxed out at 60A and the batteries appear to be being charged at about 5%. After reading some other articles on this site, I am wondering if these tall batteries are being charged enough. I don't think I can squeeze any more amperage out of the charger if I understand correctly how things work.
  • SolaRevolution
    SolaRevolution Solar Expert Posts: 410 ✭✭
    Etebari wrote: »
    I am looking for suggestions on what I can do to improve my current system. From what I can tell, I might need another charge controller to help with battery charging.
    Xantrex XW-MPPT60-150
    6 Phono PV Panels PS230P-20/U, currently wired 2 three panel strings, easy to change.
    Xantrex Freedom 458 2500
    6 Trojan L-16RE-2V batteries in series (12 Volt system) 1110 Ahrs
    Total watt hours/day=2569