Newbie ... Alternaitves for AC well pump and AC heating water circulating pump

KeithNyst
KeithNyst Registered Users Posts: 8
Hello, complete Newbie here,
My wife and I will be retiring to a rural, log home in northern Minnesota. The home has water-circulated heat (finned emitters) with dual boilers (propane and wood) in series. The well is 145’ deep with an AC submersible pump; excellent water and lots of it.

The submersible is 10+ years old, so I want to do some thoughtful planning for what I want as a replacement, and do the homework ahead of time. Might even go as far as buying everything ahead and stock-piling in my pole barn.

As a replacement strategy I am thinking contingency, contingency. I want to have the ability to provide water and heat during a long-term grid outage (weeks). By heat, I mean burn the wood boiler and circulate to emitters w/o relying on propane.
• If possible, a submersible that can run on both AC and DC
• If possible, replace the AC pump that circulates the water to the heat emitters in the house with a DC pump
• and have solar panels with battery bank sufficient to power them

This would provide added peace of mind/insurance for a long-term grid issue, whether driven by pandemic, solar flares, weather, … pick a scenario. Water and heat are right up there in priority.

Some design info: Well is 145’ deep. Will be pumping to a pressure tank that would shut off at 40 psi. Well head is 5’ lower than the pressure tank. I am assuming a static water level of 100’ + additional 90ft head for the 40psi pressure tank (40psi/0.433 psi/ft) for a total of 195’ foot of head. I’m thinking a design pump rate of 8-10 gpm (sound reasonable for 2 bathroom and will have kids coming with grandchildren periodically). If possible, I would want a submersible pump that can run AC and also DC. FYI … bulk surface storage is not an option … the state record was set at -60F ten miles away in 1996.

My questions are:
• Is this a technically feasible project?