Solar garden pump problem

Options
SolarWally
SolarWally Registered Users Posts: 3
A couple of years ago a local solar company set up a solar powered pump system for my garden (I have zero knowledge in this area). Rainwater is collected in an underground tank, then pumped to an above ground holding tank for gravity-feed watering of the garden. There’s a float switch in the above ground tank to turn the system off when the tank is full and a sensor in the underground tank to turn it off if that water level runs low. The system featured a 20 watt solar panel, 12 volt battery, 6 amp charge controller.

The first year it worked great, except after a couple of months the battery failed. A new battery suffered the same fate early last year. Since I had not really wanted a battery in the system in the first place (I don’t water a lot so the tank doesn’t have to fill in a hurry) the guy came up with a new battery-free setup. However, at this point we had an acrimonious falling out because, having charged me three times his estimate for the original system, he now planned on charging me again for the new setup.

Long story short, I returned the original setup, took the new setup in return and installed it myself. Needless to say, it too doesn’t quite work. It pumps water, but the water falls a few feet short of reaching the above ground tank. The pump is about 7 feet below ground and the inlet of the above ground tank is about 10 feet above that ground level. However, the total length of pipe is about 60 feet. The pump is an LVM105, which worked fine when there was a battery in the equation so I’m assuming it has enough umph though it does say its head rating is 32 feet. Also in the current setup is a ‘PV direct pump controller’ and the same ‘20 watt high efficiency solar panel.’ I have no specs or other information for these two.

My question is what do I need to do now to make it work? Another panel? Different pump? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• niel