What do I need to create a solar power system

glock907
glock907 Registered Users Posts: 7
I wish to purchase all the solar power items needed to operate a minimum of 1 full sized refrigerator and 1 large freezer and the instructions to connect it all together. I have no working knowledge of electronics and need all the help i can get. if the rig
will operate more the better. I need a detailed list of needed equipment diagrams would also be helpful. recommended products would also be helpful thank you

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: What do I need to create a solar power system

Welcome to the forum.
    The first thing you need is a Kill-A-Watt or similar meter. You run the appliance in question through it, get some real world numbers on its power consumption, figure out how much power you need to supply, then have a mild coronary when you find out what it costs.

This is why the inevitable first question is: why do you want to do this?
    If it's for emergency back-up power when the grid goes down, usually a good generator is a more prudent investment. If it is to run an off-grid home, you need to take into consideration how much time you spend there; propane refrigeration can be cheaper for short-duration stays. If it is to save money on your electric bill, you're barking up the wrong tree as off-grid power comes at a cost that can be ten times utility power.

Since I'm one of those that does run refrigeration off-grid I can tell you precisely what is involved.
    1). An inverter capable of handling the start-up surge of the refrigeration compressor. This inevitably means pure sine wave type and at least 1 kW capacity. Even though the running 'frige will only draw around 150 Watts, when it starts it will momentarily demand a lot more. If it has automatic defrost it will use around 500 Watts for that cycle too.