Size of system for grid tie?

peteoldman
peteoldman Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
I am new to this and am looking for the correct size system. I average 1200 kw per month.I am in NW Iowa and they bank my access power . I would like to get about 90% off my usage.I have bids from 4 contractors with different sizes from each from 7kw to11 kw .What would be the best solution? I am doing a multi pole mount and have no shade problems .Also will do seasonal tilt. Any help will be greatly appreciated

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Size of system for grid tie?

Using PV Watts, say the nearest site with similar weather patterns is Mason City, using 1kW (1,000 watt) array, and the rest defaults:

A fixed array:
    "Station Identification"
    "City:","Mason_City"
    "State:","Iowa"
    "Lat (deg N):", 43.15
    "Long (deg W):", 93.33
    "Elev (m): ", 373
    "PV System Specifications"
    "DC Rating:"," 1.0 kW"
    "DC to AC Derate Factor:"," 0.770"
    "AC Rating:"," 0.8 kW"
    "Array Type: Fixed Tilt"
    "Array Tilt:"," 43.2"
    "Array Azimuth:","180.0"

"Energy Specifications"
    "Cost of Electricity:"," 9.0 cents/kWh"

"Results"
    "Month", "Solar Radiation (kWh/m^2/day)", "AC Energy (kWh)", "Energy Value ($)"
    1, 3.80, 100, 9.00
    2, 4.57, 104, 9.36
    3, 4.57, 111, 9.99
    4, 5.02, 114, 10.26
    5, 5.58, 124, 11.16
    6, 5.75, 119, 10.71
    7, 5.83, 124, 11.16
    8, 5.92, 128, 11.52
    9, 5.20, 112, 10.08
    10, 4.83, 112, 10.08
    11, 3.18, 74, 6.66
    12, 2.97, 76, 6.84
    "Year", 4.77, 1299, 116.91

You would get (20 year averge) of 1,299 kWH per year per 1kW of array.

For you, then we would look at:
    • 1,200 kWH per month * 12 months * 1/1,299 kWH per year per 1kW array = 11.1 kW array

For most areas, a 10 kW maximum array fits in the "personal" solar that many PUC/Utilities carve out for home GT solar systems.