Best inverter for 5kw installation ?

Sorry for not doing my homework on the search button, but I'm meeting with an installer in a few days and wanted your opinions on what would be a good inverter for my project.

I bought 24 215w Evergreen panel's on a special sale. It was an impulse buy because a friend wrote me and said if you ever wanted solar, this was the deal of the century. I got the panel's for around $.78cents/watt.

Tech changes so fast, I wanted to ask in a new thread what has probably been asked a million times already, what inverter out there would you go with on a 5kw grid tie installation?

Thank you. :D I forget to mention I'm a total newb at this, but I've been reading.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Best inverter for 5kw installation ?

SMA is probably one of the best GT inverter manufacturers out there right now. Not cheap.

Ask your installer which units seem to last and which brands he gets lots of returns on.

You are looking for something that will last, at least, 10 years. And I would plan on replacing a GT inverter (or any power electronics) after 10+ years. In electronics, things age, and it is almost impossible to get parts/service on anything that is 10+ years old (and many times, 5+ years old)... Technology moves fast.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • solarvic
    solarvic Solar Expert Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭✭

I like my fronius inverters. I have both the previous ig models and the latest IG-Plus which I think is superiour to the previoug ig model. :Dsolarvic:D
  • solarix
    solarix Solar Expert Posts: 713 ✭✭

SMA: Best established reliability despite having a fan, a little expensive, heavy, and hard to string size - should be Ok in your case. I hate their new string size tool.