Duration for light from Battery

Options
theuns
theuns Registered Users Posts: 7
HI
I am a newbie to all this and is still trying to get my head around all this, so here is a couple of questions.
1. As i understand it deep cycle battery capacity is given in amp-hours over a twenty hour period.
eg. 105 ah battery provides 105/20= 5.25amps per hour for 20 hours, correct?

2. If you have a 20Watt, 230Volt, CFL light and a 105ah, 12V deep cycle battery fully charged connected to a 1500W inverter, how long will the light stay on?

a) The battery can deliver 105amp x 12V = 1026 watts, therefor the light can stay on 1026/20 = 63 hours, is this correct?
b) or, the light needs 20/230V = 0.08 amps , therefor the light can stay on 105/0.08 = 1312.5 hours, is this correct?
c) or .... the correct way to work out the amount of stay on time for the light

Which one is correct? option b) does not feel right.

I would appreciate any feedback, thank you in advance

Comments

• rplarry
    rplarry Solar Expert Posts: 203 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Duration for light from Battery

The only thing I (others will see something else) see that you forgot was to figure in what the inverter draws and add that to your amphour useage. Most inverters are 80 to 90% efficient. Also the way you are figuring the amphour useage on the battery will take your battery down to 100% DoD. Normally you wouldn't to go any lower than 50%.
    Larry
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options

You will never get a 100% accurate figure from calculations. You can only come close. This is because there are so many factors which will affect the power available from the battery (like temperature) and the power used by the load.