Introduction and Solar Project

tndoug99
tndoug99 Registered Users Posts: 10
Hello All,
My name is Doug and I have developed a keen interest in solar energy this past year, so much so, that I embarked on building my own (small)solar energy system. For the past 6 months or so I have learned and formulated my plan.
Now, my background is as far from anything electrical as I am from China right now, and without a mentor or two to guide me, my journey will be more difficult.

I decided to start with a small 12 volt system. I wanted it to be portable, expandable, and efficient. I wanted to use the best quality I could afford. So far, these are the components I have purchased:

Xantrex Prowatt 600 truesine inverter
Blue Sky 2000E MPPT 25 amp charge controller
Battery Charger, 12 volt SmartCharger by CTI
3x40 Watts Sopray Mono 12v solar panels... 3 smaller 2.5a panels I will make foldable into one 120 Watt,7.5 amp solar panel, charge controller should be able to handle up to 3 sets or 360 watts/22.5 amps.
One 12 volt, 105 amp hour sealed deep cycle battery. In the future I would like to replace the 12 volt battery with two 6 volt, 250 amp hour sealed batteries wired in series.
A two wheel foldable monster cart to carry it all (don't believe the 250lb limit on these carts...more like 150 max)

Also a MTM solar tracker circuit and motor. I really jumped in it with this! This is a project all in itself to be tackled after my solar project is finished or near finished. I have a design in mind for this.

Things I THINK I may also need, but not sure:
combiner box, fuse block, disconnect for solar panels, disconnect for battery.

Things I want to add:
12 volt outlet
iPod player w/speakers
12" or so LED strip light

All this (except the solar panels and battery) to be installed in a 16" tall x 16" wide x 10" deep enclosure. I think it will work.

Well Guys.... am I on the right track for a small efficient system?

Comments

• Seven
    Seven Solar Expert Posts: 292 ✭✭