Good Use of batteries.

jacknife
jacknife Registered Users Posts: 6
I have been fooling around with solar for about 6 months. I started out with 4 - 12 volt golf cart batteries and purchased a couple of 24 volt 225 watt solar panels. In the meantime I found an excellent buy on 12 volt Lifeline AGM 255 Ah batteries. and got 6 of them. Wow what a find.......... Well now the problem starts. What do I do now. I would like to build an off grid 24 volt DC system that produces 220 volts ac at about 4000 watts. The more I research the more stumped I become, Maybe I am looking too hard........... Any thoughts about this ? I also have a 440 amp Coleman air charge controller.My batteries are wired in a 24 volt configuration just like the one suggested on this site, and they are charged to 25.6 x3 trying to build a 1500ah battery bank. I may have the cart before the Horse but I got the batteries for $100 each (government surplus) never used 2 years old and had 12.5 volts when I got them and now they are holding a 12.8 charge. I believe they will be a good basis for a strong system, But an my grandson says " What do I do Now". Right now I am just keeping them charged up. But I really want to run with this thing.

Comments

• Seven
    Seven Solar Expert Posts: 292 ✭✭
    Re: Good Use of batteries.

I will be the first one to ask what your loads are. The basis of any system depends on that answer. You talk about a 24v system, but you mention 6, 12v batteries. That puts you having three parallel strings of 24v at a total of 765ah. That will require an 80a charger and a good number of panels to feed it.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin

4kW is a good sized system... Do you need 240 VAC or 120/240 VAC split phase (typical North American Home)?

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Definitely cart-before-the-horse. :roll: