Help me spend $3,000

B737
B737 Registered Users Posts: 5
Hi all,

Complete newbie here, but have been lurking for months...some very smart folks here!

I am hoping to tap into those smarts, and start a "group" project.

I know this is a completely backwards way of doing things, but as an exercise, I want to see what kind of a system can be built for $3,000 +/- $150...no exceptions!

I, intentionally, want to give as few usage/design parameters as possible, (so as not to stifel creativity) but there are a few:

1. Reliability trumps output! All top quality components.

2. Upgradable.

3. Portable. AGM batteries.

4. Off grid.

5. No generator suggestions--already have honda eu2000i ;)

I know this is very little to work with, but that's all ya get!:p

If this gets rolling, I will build the system and post progress reports with photos.

Thanks all! Rob

Comments

• techntrek
    techntrek Solar Expert Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭
    Re: Help me spend $3,000

Ok, send me your $3000 and I'll spend it.
    4.5 kw APC UPS powered by a Prius, 12 kw Generac, Honda EU3000is
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

i'm having great troubles melding #2 and #3 unless it is portable as in trailer.

as was pointed out to you already, you can't design something if you don't know what it's for and all specific applications.
  • n3qik
    n3qik Solar Expert Posts: 741 ✭✭

Paypal me the money, will in return send/post pics of my install.

We need more info:

I/we could spend 3K just on batteries.

http://www.solar-electric.com/crinba24vo62.html
  • Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭

How about a portable unit like this, Eco 1800S Solar Generator, it's a mobile unit, well it has wheels anyway.