Output calculators vs. real system output

Options
I have been looking at doing a self install of a solar system. I am an electrical engineer undergrad and mechanical engineering PhD and feel comfortable with all the mechanical and electrical work involved (including investigating local building codes), so now I am at the point of determining sizing, equipment, etc.

I found the calculator at the California Solar Initiative (http://www.csi-epbb.com/default.aspx) which seemed great because you could put in actual panels, inverter, and a few installation parameters (e.g. azimuth and tilt angle) to get a figure of output. However, as I have looked at several blogs about installations it seems that the calculator underestimates the actual output by a considerable amount. For example the setup given at http://www.angelfire.com/ca2/roderick/solar/photovoltaic.html says that their first year they really generated 6556 kWh, whereas the CSI calculator gave a figure of 4226 kWh.

So, as a beginner, I have two primary questions:
1) how accurate are a lot of the calculators out there?
2) if I were to design a rail that allowed for east/west tracking (completely open loop based on date and time), what percentage improvement does tracking provide? I see a lot of comments that it improves things, but would like to know how much as a rough percentage.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Output calculators vs. real system output

PV Watts seems to be pretty accurate (if there is a station near you). It is based on actual measurements over ~20 years--so weather is taken into account too. It has options for 0, 1, and 2 axis trackers, plus a spread sheet output with hour by hour estimates based on your input requirements.

And what is your definition of accuracy... It is easy to have 10% longterm variations due to weather, and upwards of +/-20% if you are in a coastal region that has variable marine layer/weather conditions.