Whisper 100 in the Bahamas x2

thenderson4
thenderson4 Registered Users Posts: 16 ✭✭
In a few days I go to the Bahamas to get a friends solar up and running. A few months ago a contractor installed it but it never reduced my friends power bill. Turns out the contractor did not use enough battery storage, so the inverters went into AC Pass Thru, which means the inverters are not doing anything. Of course the erratic grid power was making the inverters go into fault at other times.

My main purpose in this next trip is to hook up 24 new Surrette 2 volt batteries, 2ys31ps is the model, if anybody is interested. But a secondary reason is to try to get the two Whisper 100 wind generators up and producing power, for night-time suppliment. I have read the manual but this is my first time to get into wind generation. I have tried to eduacate myself so this much I have learned. The output is 3 phase AC, being rectified and controlled by the controller, which passes this into the battery bank. I feel honored to get to work on this system, it is the largest residential system I have seen. The total PV power is 84 each 280 watt panels using 7 Xantrex 60 MPPT CC. This is all needed because the load is tremendous. This DC feeds four XW 6048 60 in tandem, which when operating at near rated power can pull almost 500 amps from the batteries.

All you readers out there can weigh in with things to look for (trouble-wise) from these two Whisper 100 turbines. I will look for shorted diodes, bad cards, etc. . .

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,422 admin
    Re: Whisper 100 in the Bahamas x2

I looked at the Whisper installation manual, and the battery wiring is not optimum... They have series/parallel connections made "ladder" style... The battery(ies) nearest to the charge controller will get the most charging current, etc...