Combining panals of different manufacturers?

Options
Gregmik
Gregmik Registered Users Posts: 19
I just joined as I had a specific question and will be reading and I am sure learning more from here.

I have a 18 watt Amorphous panel from Northern Tool, and I have bought 2-50w Poly crystalline panels from Epcom. My question is would it be ok to hook the 18 watt in Parallel with the two 50w?

Thanks in advance,

Greg

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Combining panals of different manufacturers?

what is the vmp and imps of the pvs and assuming you have one, what is the ampere capacity of your controller?
  • Gregmik
    Options
    niel wrote: »
    what is the vmp and imps of the pvs and assuming you have one, what is the ampere capacity of your controller?

I am very new to this, so I do not know what VMP or IMPs stand for. The rated voltage of the 50w panels is 17.8v with an amp rating of 2.78a. The 18w panel does not give me ratings but in the sun it puts out 21v at .9a. I have a 7 amp controller.

I have a source for free used gelcells from electric wheel chairs. I currently have 8 of those, but only am only charging 3 at a time.

Next purchase is a 40amp HPPT controller as I know I am at my limit with the 7amp NPower(Sunforce) I currently have.

Thanks,

Greg
  • niel
    Options

ok, i think you could parallel them if the controller you have can really take that much current. the 21v for the one is most likely open circuit voltage and would fall more inline with the other pvs being in the 17v range. if it's not open circuit voltage (voc) and is 21v vmp then there will be an imbalance and some wasted power too, but it should still operate.