Not sure about upgrading set up

Options
firerescue712
firerescue712 Solar Expert Posts: 95 ✭✭
I am fiarly new to solar. This forum is a terrific place for information. There are several here who excel in knowledge. I need some advice. I have four sets of the 45-watt Harbor Freight panels. There are three panels per set. I know...Harbor Freight (yucky). I am a noob and was lured by the sale ads and local availability. Now, i want to upgrade to better panels, but keep the HF ones for a while. The HF sets are wired with the three panels in the set in parallel. They are set up with a Rogue 3024 running 12-v to a 12-v battery bank. I am ready to move up to 24-v for future off grid uses. Can i take two set (3-panels in parallel at 12-v) and run the lead wire from one set to another set via positive to negative and safely make the two sets a 24-volt system? Or would i need to cut all the panels loose and wire only two panels in series? Also, it seems I would have to buy a 24-v panel that is putting our 35-v vmp +/- 10% to tie in with the current HF sets? Thank you for your inputs.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Not sure about upgrading set up

If you have three low-power panels in parallel you can wire that group in series with three more of the same in another group. Essentially each group of three "behaves" as one larger panel, with the same Vmp as an individual panel but 3X the Imp. You can not wire only one of these panels in series with three others that are in parallel: the Imp difference will be a problem.

I wouldn't be too keen on mixing the HF panels with other types, as it seems their specifications are bit "optimistic" compared to the reality of their output. In other words I wouldn't trust their Vmp & Imp rating to be accurate.
  • firerescue712
    Options