Wire Gauge Question

Options
opensky
opensky Registered Users Posts: 13
I'm new to solar and I'm having trouble determining what gauge of wire I need to go from the combiner box to the controller I have Sun Electronics panels - 200w, 33.2V Open circuit, and 7.28A. I'm wiring them in 2 series of 3. So the voltage will be 99.6 and the amperage will be at 14.56. The distance from the combiner box to the Outback FM60 is about 120 feet. I'm thinking I'll need either 4, 5, or 6 gauge. Also, this will show my ignorance but, will stranded wire work or does it need to be solid?

While I'm at it, I should back up. How should I get the pv cables to the combiner box? I was planning on putting the combiner box inside which means putting it about 30 ft from the panels. First off, is that pointless? If not, should I run four separate pv cables (two positive and two negative) and connect them at the combiner box? Or should I reduce to two at the panels and run two to the combiner box?

THANKS!

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Wire Gauge Question

welcome to the forum,
    i would like you to clarify the vmp of the pvs as the v drop calculations aren't involving the voc so i couldn't read very far into your post as i thought it incomplete for information from the start. the voc is helpful in determining how many pvs you could place in series for use with that cc. also verify for me that the 7.28a of current is the imp.
  • petertearai
    petertearai Solar Expert Posts: 471 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi the fm60 manual has some charts giving wire sizes and distances. If you haven't bought the fm60 yet you can download it from the Outback site.
    2225 wattts pv . Outback 2kw  fxr pure sine inverter . fm80 charge controller . Mate 3. victron battery monitor . 24 volts  in 2 volt Shoto lead carbon extreme batterys. off grid  holiday home 
  • niel
    Options

opensky,