Cable from array to controller question????

boywonder
boywonder Registered Users Posts: 16
I'm a GREEN NEWBIE and just had a solar system built for my 5th Wheel Trailer. I opted not to install the panels on the roof but keep them portable to move around for the best sun saturation. My problem is, I only had a 30' cable made up from the junction box to the controller. I lose some length inside the front basement where everything is located and doesn't leave much for moving the panels around.

This is the description on the cable:
Nexans-C Ultrex-VN 600v TC THHN/THWN 2XC-10AWG Sun Res Dir Bur (UL) E-64956 02Mar2010 017558

My questions are: Can I extend the length to 40' to 50' without effecting the charging? If so, Would it be better if it was one solid length or can it be spliced to lengthen it?

Any and all help appreciated!!!! There will be more questions later I'm sure.
boywonder

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Cable from array to controller question????

Welcome to the forum.

Before anyone can answer that question you're going to have to answer a couple. :D
    Mainly, what are the panels and how are they wired?
    The amount of power you can push through the wire depends on (in this case) four things: the Voltage, the current, the length of the wire, and the size of the wire. So far we know one of those: it's 10 AWG. Without the other three things it's impossible to determine what kind of Voltage drop you've got now and how much it would increase by lengthening the wire.
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

some questions for you first.

by 30ft cable do you mean 30ft for the + side and 30ft for the - side just to be sure?
    what are the specs of the pvs you are using, how many, and in what configuration?
    what controller do you have and its specs? are these cables for an mc type connection?

you beat me to it coot.:p:p
  • boywonder