Astronergy panels?

I am new to solar and am looking to put up a 48 panel Astronergy 235W system using Magnum MS4448, Midnight Solar Classic MPPT Charge controller 150V in an OFF GRID system. I want to check to see if anyone has any experience with the quality and reliability of these components?

Thanks

Greg
Gulf Breeze FL

Comments

• Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Astronergy panels?

Well, for Off-Grid, this is a HUGE system on the PV input side. AND, seems like far too little inverter, and you would need four or probably five charge controllers.

As others will council, perhaps you should look at your loads, and at some serious conseervation. Realize that in FL, A/C is very important. But with that much PV input, you will need a stack of inverters to use the power. Then, there might well be a serious bank of batteries.

More detail on the numbers is a very important detail.

Good Luck! Vic
    Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548 Inverters, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 4X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  25 KVA Polyphase Kubota diesel,  Honda Eu6500isa,  Eu3000is-es, Eu2000,  Eu1000 gensets.  Thanks Wind-Sun for this great Forum.
  • Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭

Your going to need a huge battery bank as well ...
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

What Vic said. :roll:
    11,000+ Watts of panel is crazy big for off-grid. It's big for grid-tie for that matter.

Follow the off-grid formula to get things right:

1). Measure your loads. Preferably with an actual Kill-A-Watt meter; not calculated from listed equipment specs.
    2). Reduce those loads as much as possible. As in eliminating any electrical heating devices.
    3). From the total Watt hours daily and peak Watt needs determine the size and Voltage of the battery bank and inverter.