Montana grid-tie PV installation: questions

I live in a small, rural community in Montana and I'd like to plan a grid-tie PV installation this fall, complete the installation of the inverter this winter and PV panels next spring. What I'm running into are a bunch of "expert" installers in this area that want to sell me $30000 worth of stuff that's basically overpriced. If I can manage this project myself, I think I can save A LOT. So, I'll fill-in a bit of my background, the project I'd like to work on, and then lead into some questions.

I've installed off-grid PV and wind systems myself for about five years where I work in some pretty harsh mountain environments. At home, I've done most of my home wiring myself, though I'm not a certified electrician (this is legal in Montana.) I have a BS in electrical engineering, though I won't even pretend that makes me a qualified electrician. In other words, I'm an amateur with enough knowledge to make me dangerous.

In Montana, Northwestern Energy offers 1:1 energy credits on alternative energy. So, for every kW I produce and dump on the grid, I can draw a kW back later for free. This means NO BATTERIES NEEDED. I think that's huge - installing and maintaining batteries is a huge headache. In fact, most PV installations in Montana are done this way. So, this means I just need to install a grid-tie inverter (I won't do that myself), PV panels (this part I will do), and all the wiring and connectors. The panels will be roof-mounted, no tracker. For one, I don't have room for a tracker and second, I have a nice exposure on the roof for panels.