Inheriting a Turbine – Seeking Advice

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
I'm buying a house with a wind turbine already installed. The turbine, a Bergey 1500, was put in before the neighborhood had power lines . Since the house was hooked up to the power grid, the Burgey hasn't done anything.

I'm not an engineer, but my question is this: What can I use it for? My understanding is that it's still 100% functional, and the model apparently kicks out 6.5 kWh a day.

I've heard it's next to impossible to feed it into our local utility. And I already have hot water. It is possible to have it kick out a little heat via resisters? Otherwise I may take it down due to the noise it generates.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Inheriting a Turbine – Seeking Advice

Contact your utility about grid tie. I'd don't know of any that won't allow it. The Bergy is w good unit. Consider bulk water heating for space heating, or space heating.

Tony
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

You can charge an off-grid battery bank and run an AC inverter... However, the costs to do this and keep it running may not be insignificant.

At the very least, a new battery bank every 8-15 years is very common.

The inverter(s) and charge controllers--Probably around a 10 year life (electronics fail, difficult to find replacement parts for older systems or people to repair them).

And wind turbines do fail (blades, bearings, yaw bearings, slip-rings, etc.). Many of the failures can include shedding pieces or even the entire turbine falling to the ground. So, location of the tower, residence, other buildings, and places where people congregate becomes important too. (not saying your Bergey is excessively prone to physical failure--Just the nature of mechanical objects exposed to wind and weather).