Voltage leak help

Hi,
I am new to solar and this form.
I am not an expert in electricity.
I have installed a solar panel system that provides energy to a small cabin.
I have a “Iliminator” (Canadian Tire) inverter that converts the solar energy to AC power that feed the cabin.

Two questions / issues
I recently installed LED lights and noticed that when the light switch was turned off there was still a small amount of light coming from them.
I metered my switches and am getting a reading of approximately 7 volts when the switch is turned off?
Called an electrician and he could not figure it out BUT said it was probably a solar panel issue because the neutral was charged.
I metered the neutral coming out of the inverter and it is charged at 120 volts
Is that normal
What am I getting a small voltage reading when the switch is turned off.

Any assistance or guidance would be appricated.

Thank you.
P

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Voltage leak help

I assume you are using the 120 VAC inverter to drive the LED lamps? Is this a True Sine Wave inverter (TSW) or a MSW (modified square wave) inverter?

And how are you turning off the power? An AC Light switch, turning off power to the LEDs (leaving the inverter running), turning off a switch on the inverter, or turning of the DC power to the inverter?

My guess is you are leaking a little bit of current through from the battery bank to the 120 VAC LEDs... I have seen AC light switches (with a neon light) supply enough power to cause a couple of CFL's to blink every few seconds.

There are other possibilities (like using an Inhibit Switch on the inverter) that is leaving a little current from the battery (or internal capacitors) to supply just a tiny bit of current to the LEDs (LED's need only a few volts and a tiny bit of current to glow).