A happy clam needs power!

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hey everyone,

My fiance and I are seasonal nomads in the high Sierra. He is a professional rock climbing guide and I am a biologist. We got tired of two of us camping out of a single Honda CRV in the seemingly endless late winter we had this May and June in the Sierra and broke down and bought ourselves a 10-ft clamshell tent trailer thingy we call, the Happy Clam.

We are simple, salt of the earth people with a tiny trailer and a movie habit. We want to set up a simple, yet effective solar power system for the clam that is enough to power a laptop, a stereo (with surround sound and NPR), and charge cell phones while we're off the grid.

We would like to install 1 12-volt deep cycle battery (does it matter if we get a gel or traditional battery?). How many watt panel would you recommend? Is there a kit out there anyone might recommend?

The system will primarily be used for a few hours during the evening, with the occasional rain day with prolonged use. I've been doing lots of research and price comparison, but I'm a little overwhelmed with all the choices ranging from seemingly too little to way too much. Any ideas and assistance anyone has would be most welcome. We would like to keep the budget $300 or less if possible. We figure we need the panel, a regulator, a battery, and an inverter. Thank you for your help, solar gods.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: A happy clam needs power!

Welcome to the forum.

If you want to stay happy as clams you need to design your system right. That means getting some real numbers for your potential loads. The best way to do that is to spend about $30 on a Kill-A-Watt meter and start taking some measurements of your equipment before you're out in the middle of nowhere.