Playhouse lights panel

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hello, I'm really new to this and not very bright. All I want is to set up a small solar panel on my daughter's playhouse. I'm hoping to run the occasional flourescent light and maybe a radio or small appliance, not very often and not for more than a couple hours at a time. It's off grid, so anything I get will be a bonus.

From what I'm reading, a small 40 watt panel should do me, shouldn't it? Should I get one battery (I'm told a cheapie would work just fine) or hook up a pair?

Other than a regulator and converter (400W?), what else should I need?

I'm wanting to mount it on the roof of the playhouse -- it faces south, and I live in Cleveland.

thanks,
Ken

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Playhouse lights panel

Welcome to the forum.

What you really need to do is define exactly what you want to run and for how long. Otherwise you're just guessing, and the trouble with guessing is that you can be wrong 99% of the time.

So the first question would be is this going to be DC only, or are you planning on powering an inverter for 120 VAC?

The second question would be how many Watts at once would you need to supply? Related to that is how many Watt hours? For example, two 13 Watt CFL's would be 26 Watts total. If you leave them on for two hours that's 52 Watt hours.

Once the amount of power needed is determined then you can pick a battery that can supply that and figure out what you'll need in solar panel and controller to recharge the battery.

I'm going to guess that beyond providing some fun lights for kids, Dad wants to learn a bit more about solar electric systems. :D
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

Yes, I would like to learn more about these, and if this is a success, I can start prodding the wife into doing something with the main house -- way down the road.