Feedback please

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
I am new to this and solar power is now my hobby focus. I need some feedback on if I am really off base with my idea or not. Let me start by saying, this setup will only be for running a few low wattage lights outside every once in a while and running a few items during a blackout if needed, but luckily, that doesn't happen very often in my area, but it's nice to have something. Freezer would be the only thing I might run if power was out for a couple of days.
Here is what I currently have:
Cells to create a 60 watt, 18 volt panel.
Panel for the cells.
2 12 volt AGM 100 ah batteries @ 8 hour dischage rate (found these on a deal so I bought them)
1500 watt inverter
Solar Boost 2000E, 12 v 25 amp. (I probably over bought here but my thinking was for more panels in the future so it's an investment.)

From the things I am reading, it looks like I don't have enough panels to recharge both my batteries correctly but it does look like I could recharge one of them with the one panel. Does anyone have any feedback? Am I on the right track, or am I off? Does anyone have any suggestions on setup? My current plan is to keep the batteries at 12 volts but string the together and make sure to hook the inverter to a battery from the positive while taking the negative from the other battery. My plan for the panel, since this is a mobile setup was to set the panel in the backyard to charge and when bad weather really hits(aka hail) move it in till it passes. In this type of setup, would I need to ground the panel?

I appreciate any advice you can give me!

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Feedback please

Welcome to the forum.

You may be a bit optimistic about charging even one of those batteries with that panel. You might realistically expect 3 Amps from 60 Watts, and that's rather low even for 100 Amp hours. With good sun and light use it might work.