Connecting anything to your LAN

I'm new to solar as anyone that has read my posts can tell but what I do have lots of experience with are computer networks and mounting system, both as a profession.

If it would be handy to have a sort of printed wizard to help folks setup a LAN (Local area network) with remote access to charge controllers, and such, chine in and I'll put it up here. I promise that it will not be techno babble butinstead a practical guide most should be able to follow with a high degree of success. I'll explain some things along the way to provide a common basis for questions and answers as things come up in whatever you might be trying to do. Not being a fan of any particular computer system, the information will be agnostic to whatever equipment you have although I do have some specific examples.

So let me know.

Comments

• huntep
    huntep Registered Users Posts: 9 ✭✭
    Re: Connecting anything to your LAN

Thanks Blue.. just the guy I wanted to talk to. How do you connect the XW4024 to the LAN switch and have it monitored from my computer?
    Is there a software client to install?
    Thanks..
  • bluewickedburner
    bluewickedburner Solar Expert Posts: 78 ✭✭✭✭
    huntep wrote: »
    Thanks Blue.. just the guy I wanted to talk to. How do you connect the XW4024 to the LAN switch and have it monitored from my computer?
    Is there a software client to install?
    Thanks..

First you'll need the communications gateway if you want to use that gateway and the embedded web pages it uses along with data logging.

Do you have that? The upgrade will have everything you need software wise. The connectivity from the gateway to a router is then something I can help with.

Since you stated you have a switch and not a router does that mean you know the difference between the two?