Off Grid Beach Lot System

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi Guys,

I am a newbie and hope that some of you can give me some much needed guidance and advice for a new solar system .

I am currently in Dubai but will be moving to Philippines soon to set up home on an isolated beachfront lot, on an even more isolated island.
:roll:
There is no grid, so the Solar Option is a necessity rather than a preference.

Apart from the normal electric home appliances, I will also require to cover Split A/C for a few hours a day, desalination pump/motor occasionally and also wastewater treatment pump for effluent sometimes.

I reckon that we are talking 12kW-15kW/day requirement, (probably less).

I am considering using 12kW Sunpower PV System with SMA Inverter(s).

I need some assistance as to the quantity and size of the Battery Bank allowing for maximum of 50% discharge, to help see me over a couple of cloudy days.

I know very little about Solar and even less about electrics so some assistance from much more qualified people would be much appreciated.

Any recommended specifications are welcome.

Thanks in advance

David

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Off Grid Beach Lot System

Welcome to the forum.

That's some pretty big off grid power need! Do you have a number for maximum draw at any given time? Would a 6 kW Xantrex unit handle it? In other words, everything that will be running at once draws no more than 6000 Watts. This can be dicey with AC and water handling pumps, all of which have big start-up surge draws and can come on whenever they need to.