High School Project

Options
Giftneigung
Giftneigung Registered Users Posts: 7
I am a High School student and for my senior project I am trying to develop a design brief to take my school off of the grid (or install a grid tied system). I do not know what to do, period. I am totally new to the whole experience other than some light dabbling with radio shack panels (really small, for like small toys). I would really appreciate it if you could recommend a system and help me through the process of buying and possibly assembling the panels (through the forum obviously).

Basically, what all do I need to make this happen? (and why?)

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: High School Project

Are you more into electronics or the law?

Sizing a system for XXXX kWH's per year of production is pretty simple.

For a large system like a school, there can be fairly expensive electrical work required where the utility connects to the school (you can be talking about a large amount of power here--Interestingly, the Utility connection may have to be increased in size because the GT Solar System outputs more peak power than the school normally consumes).

Lastly, about the law--Much of the profit and loss in a large commercial system revolves around the State Public Utility Commissions' tariffs for your school (or commercial power rates), tax laws, and "green credits", tax rebates, etc...

This is a complex subject and you can define what you want your paper to be about and just touch on the other issues you may not be addressing.

Here is a newspaper article about a school district that stopped installing GT Solar because their utility bill went higher (because of those tariffs I spoke about and how they work--this is not like your home power bill).

A couple of News Articles...

It can be a very interesting subject.

Questions?

-Bill