Watt hours and battery basics

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hello all,

Please forgive my basic questions but I am new to this game. I am expanding my solar capabilities so I have a lot to learn.
Presently, I have a 60 watt, 51 aH "plug-and-play" system from Sun Force. Not much of a learning curve there. I greatly want to expand my system as my place is totally off grid.
In my estimations, my total usage will be about 1.5 kW/day. So, about 45 kW/month. The way I figure, if I had four 100 watt panels and calculate 4 hours of prime sunshine per day that should give me 1.6 kW/day for a total of 4.8 kW/month. Is this correct?
Is it better to buy the same type and wattage of solar panels from the same company? So, all panels are rated at 100 watts or 130 watts or whatever. Or can you actually mix up wattage ratings. Meaning, can I tie my present 15 watt panels to panels with larger wattage panels? Or does it really depend on the amps or each panel?
Battery bank question: I've done my reading but I am still confused about how to figure the appropriate size of battery bank. I tend to think simply. If I draw 5 amps/hr for 8 hrs then that's 40 amp/hrs. Factoring inverter efficiency and not wanting to over discharge the batteries I would figure an 80 amp/hr system.
Is my thinking correct or am I still confused?

Thank you so much,
Patrick

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Watt hours and battery basics

Okay, here we go! (As Toad would say. :D )

Off-grid systems are battery based. Do not expect to correlate PV Watts with power consumption/availability. It works like this (basically):

'X' Watt hours per day / system Voltage = Amp hours per day.
    Battery bank has to be at least twice this size to minimize the Depth of Discharge to the 50% maximum.
    So 1.5 kW hours per day on a 12 Volt system = 125 Amp hours. Times two equals a 250 Amp hour battery bank. (None of this includes system losses or power consumption of the inverter).