My 10.1KW System

Comments

• dwh
    dwh Solar Expert Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭
    Re: My 10.1KW System

As we say on the Information SuperInterWebs - gratz!
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

that's great news.8) about time huh? just like a kid waiting for santa claus it just wasn't soon enough, but such a relief when it was put in and activated. let us know how well it does.
  • solar_dave
    solar_dave Solar Expert Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭✭

Yep pretty cool when it all happens, congraties on the final.
  • Energy Efficiencies
    Energy Efficiencies Registered Users Posts: 11
    Mr Radon- You do GREAT work! Those flashings look awesome.

I guess, my point is that I thing the flashing looks beautiful, but will it last as long as your system? Did you investigate this issue beforehand? If not, can anyone else answer this? Thanks!

I am not a rocket scientist, but tin lasts much longer than asphalt, doesnt it? I am certain it will be fine.
  • mr.radon
    mr.radon Solar Expert Posts: 158 ✭✭✭✭✭

The flashing is Aluminum not tin. The roof is good for another 15-20 years, should not have an issue for some time. I looked at a re-roof before hand and even got a local roofer to look it over for me. I and the roofer came to the same conclusion, wait to replace the singles.

So I figure in 2025 I'll be posting how to remove the PV system, reroof and then reinstall the PV system.

On a side note, the Seattle area was hit by a massive cold front that brought snow and sub 20F weather. I've had snow on the panels for three days now. Is there a good way to get the snow off? I check the panels, under the snow is a layer ice.

My plan is to just wait till the rain returns. I've noticed a huge drop in production with the low sun, short days, clouds and winter rain. I'm only averaging 2-3Kwh/day.
  • drees
    drees Solar Expert Posts: 482 ✭✭✭
    mr.radon wrote: »