AC relay that works with XBM Xantrex Battery Monitor?

I am looking for an AC relay outlet that can turn on/off a Xantrex trueCharge2 TC4012 when the XBM says the SOC is below 50%. According to TC manual I can leave on Standby mode if I connect to the battery and the AC power is off. Once turn on, it will charge the battery.

What kind of AC relay am I looking for? I saw a Furman outlet miniport. I can't find a relay on/off type for AC. I am still new at this.:confused:

According to the XBM manual the terminals are listed below:
Terminals A1 and A2 are internally connected to the potential free (normally open) contact of the alarm relay. This contact can be used to control external equipment like a battery charger or a generator. The maximum switching voltage is 60 V and the maximum switching current is 1 amp.

Comments

• n3qik
    n3qik Solar Expert Posts: 741 ✭✭
  • SolarT
    SolarT Solar Expert Posts: 49
    Re: AC relay that works with XBM Xantrex Battery Monitor?

Ken,

Thank you for the diagram. It is worth a thousand follow up questions. Now I see how the relay wires connect to base. So I need to supply 12V.

If the XBM controller is potential free (normally open), does that mean that there is no switch contact unless the alarm is on. If alarm is on then then the contact is closed, correct?

Can I make it behave otherwise, i.e., alarm on open contact? I was thinking if I used the MP15 listed below http://www.furmansound.com/pdf/manuals/MP-15_MP-15Q_MP-20_MP-20Q_manual.pdf

Looking at the Furman miniport MP15, connect a
    maintained-action SPST switch to the REM and
    +12V terminals. Power will be available at the MP-
    15/20’s AC outlet when the switch is open, and will be
    removed when it is closed.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Don't forget, when you pull 12 volts (or whatever) from a battery/power source, have a small fuse in there to protect your wiring and switch contacts.

-Bill