Enphase VS string inverters

heynow999
heynow999 Solar Expert Posts: 80 ✭✭✭✭
I know this has been talked about many times on this forum. My opinion is that they both have there place. If you have some shading issuses you could probably benefit from Enphase, no shade go with a string inverter.

Here is the problem. I am an installer in Ontario, Canada. We often get customers with not ideal roofs for solar with shading issuses so we reccommend Enphase. I can see online from some past installations we did that the Enphase systems seem to work well in some not ideal roofs.

Enphase are currently in short supply so we basically can't get them at a reasonable price and we expect that to get worse. What I am looking for in some criteria to use where we should use Enphase, so that we can look very carefully whether we can use a string inverter instead. Perhaps we could use some shading percentage to deciede like if there is more than %15 shade we need Enphase (just making up that number)

I guess the real question is how bad does a site have to be before you would consider it not a good site for an array using a strinng inverter?

Thanks

Peter

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Enphase VS string inverters

My two cents...
    1. Panels should be on the same plane and roughly same mounting (i.e., mixing flush against roof deck and top of pole--different temperatures may cause issues if 2 or more parallel strings due to Vmp-temperature mismatches).
    2. Look at the number of panels shaded (typically morning and/or afternoon). And look at the minimum/maximum inverter input voltage range... Will the array start and inverter if 1/x panels shaded, and will the inverter handle the Voc-cold with all panels in full sun).
    Looking at many inverters, the "wide range" GT inverter seems to be ~200 to 600 VDC and the narrower range seem to be ~250-450 VDC...