Mysterious battery fatality-- help!!

Options
Hello,
I am new to solar systems and electronics, and I have recently (last month) installed a simple solar system on my truck with the help of a friend. I work outdoors and intend to use it sporadically to charge a laptop and some random field equipment.

Today I happened to notice that the load disconnect light on my charge controller was on, and when I went to check the battery with a volt meter, it read 8.3 V! Apparently, I starved my battery to death, but I cannot figure out why, and would like to fix the problem before I spend another $200 on a new battery.

I have a 14.5 V panel attached to my truck's roof rack, wired into a Morningstar sun saver 10-12V charge controller. I am using a sealed 12V Optima yellow-top battery. I have two DC outlets, one wired to the charge controller, and one wired directly to the battery. Each of the lines to the negative battery terminal has a fuse holder, 15V for the line from the battery to the charge controller, and 25V for the line going directly from battery to DC outlet. If I remember correctly, the battery read about 12.5V when I purchased it last month, and it has been charging all month with very minimal use. Nothing, not even an inverter, has been plugged into it for weeks. There has pretty much been full sun everyday since I set up the system. The charge light has been on everyday, and was in fact on along with the load disconnect light. I checked the wiring on the panel to make sure that the charge controller was not allowing a nighttime back flow.