First post here, so go easy on me

Options
DDuffeeInc
DDuffeeInc Registered Users Posts: 12
Hello, this is my first post on this forum. I am an electrical contractor so the solar side of things really intrigues me. From what I can see now they have a solar setup that is grid tied through some type of inversion or power box. Such as SMA or Sonny Boy. Is this correct?

Also I am contemplating setting up a system on a building of ours for usage and the knowledge of how they install and work. We have a building that has a large roof with a 2-12 pitch. There is absolutely zero shade over the roof so the amount of sun would be maximum on the panels. From the looks of things we might have to slightly angle the panels to the South for peak usage but I still have to study on that. The building is a metal building with a metal roof. The amount of usable surface we could mount on is around 14,000 sq feet.

The utility bill on this place is $700 per month so we would want to install a large enough system that would make a sizeable dent in the bill. I am thinking $20,000 would be a start at looking at one. This would be before rebates of any type.

I have ordered a few books and plan on going about this slowly and hopefully get a correct install. The electrical end calculations we have covered, the panels, hardware and power box we will have to research and look over what our best options and calculations would be.

I have heard alot of people use the Kyocera 135W panels. Is this a good start? With a grid tied system can you add another power box and more panels later? I know with the grid system you have to have a box which prevents islanding. Also we plan on installing a Skystream 600 sometimes this mid year along with the PV system.