Long time reader, first time poster

Heya, total newbie into the DIY solar thing. I bought 120 cells on ebay, the 3"x6" .5 volt cells.

I'll be setting up three separate arrangements of 36 cells all going at 18 volts.

My questions are, can I set myself up to run on a battery system as well as on the grid in case I need it without having to flip a switch?

I plan on getting a charge regulator/controller for my future set up. But when the batteries are done charging will it feed the grid at that point?

I see my setup like this

panel>regulator>batteries>inverter connected to wall plug>power stuff and feed grid.

Is this possible? Am I missing something or is it just that simple?

Thanks guys for being kind to the new guy.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Long time reader, first time poster

Welcome to the fun of posting! :D

Now for the bad and good news.
    Heya, total newbie into the DIY solar thing. I bought 120 cells on ebay, the 3"x6" .5 volt cells.

I'll be setting up three separate arrangements of 36 cells all going at 18 volts.

Usual caveat here; you can't build solar panels as good as commercial units. They will fail sooner rather than later, no matter how good a job you do.
    My questions are, can I set myself up to run on a battery system as well as on the grid in case I need it without having to flip a switch?

Sort of. But not quite how you think (see next response).
    I plan on getting a charge regulator/controller for my future set up. But when the batteries are done charging will it feed the grid at that point?

No. Reason #1: homemade panels aren't legal for grid-tie systems. Although there was just another poster who said his municipality and utility were okay with it, that was a first. Non-UL panels aren't considered electrically safe. Therefor you could not use these panels on a "hybrid" (battery backed-up) grid-tie system.
    I see my setup like this