New to Wind/Solar, questions about setup.

Steven Lake
Steven Lake Solar Expert Posts: 402 ✭✭
Hi all. I'm new to all this here and I would like to get your 2c on a project I'm JUST beginning. Well, I'm more in the research stage than anything. Anyhow, here's what I've got. I'm going to be buying a new home very soon and would like to outfit it with a complete Wind/Solar setup shortly after we get moved in and setup shop. Well, actually it'll be more wind than solar, since we get plenty of wind where I live, but the sun doesn't visit us too often. :(

Anyhow, the house we're buying is about 1200sqft, and the average usage per month is about 600kw of power, or about 20kw per day. The high end usage for the year is about 850kw for the month (dead of winter/heat of summer) and about 300-350kw during spring and fall. I know I don't have the exact power requirements of the individual items within the house, however, when comparing things to our existing systems, I'm pretty much able to make a rough estimate of what the usage will be at the new house, since their usage is about the same as ours here. But even so that doesn't tell me what I need since I'm new to all this.

First off, the furnace will be fuel oil, the hot water heater is electric, and the water pump is a deep well (1000ft if memory serves me right) running 240v @ 24amps. I'm not sure what the draw is on the furnace or hot water heater as I can't find anything that tells me what the usage is, as these are apparently pre-energy star models. Also, in doing much of my initial research I've come to three basic conclusions for the new house. Well, actually more accurately, three different states of sustainability.

1. Fully off grid.
2. Emergency off grid.
3. Minimal survivability.