Wind powered pump-storage plant

Options
hi there,
i'm a student working on one of my small assignments where i have to propose a renewable electricity generation system to a small town. The demand to fulfill is 3 MW. I'm interested in proposing a wind powered pump storage plant.
The concept is something like when there is a high wind supply then the excess amount of power shall be diverted to the hydro station to store the water in reservoir. When there is a low supply of wind then the demand shall be fulfilled by the hydrostation.
I want some help in correcting the way I'm doing calculation on plant installation. I think that here the main source of generation is the wind turbine and that the hydrostation is serving to fulfill the spare capacity because of intermittent nature of wind. Is this thought correct?
You can also call it as the concept of capacity credit.

Secondly, if hydrostation is the capacity credit for wind power then as per an empirical formula provided by our course teacher:
capacity credit (for wind) = (installed wind capacity)^0.5
can i use the above formula to find the total MW of capacity for the hydrostation?

please help me with the above two questions, ASAP.:confused:

Thanks a lot!!

PS.
This assignment is very small scaled. It is just to examine student's thinking ability. All loses are considered as negligible and the students are free to install waht they want but the capacity values should be CORRECT.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Wind powered pump-storage plant

Yes the hydro storage would serve as a kind of "battery" to store excess energy produced by the wind turbines thus mediating the output.

I have to say I don't like the parameters set up for the exercise. The losses are not "negligible" by any means, and to relegate them to the scrap heap is, in my opinion, teaching poor practices.

In practical terms there are at least the following problems to such a design: