New to Forum

rnjpinz
rnjpinz Registered Users Posts: 5
I am new to Solar Power so please bear with my ignorance.

I am going to outfit my sailboat with solar panels to help charge my 12 volt, gel battery banks. This is important because I am planning on traveling on this vessel and will not only be off shore for days at a time, but plan to be at anchor for weeks at a time with no onshore power. I have researched putting 2- Kyrocera 135Watt panels wired in parallel. This seems to be what everyone recommends.

My question is this. Why wouldn't I want to go with 2- 235 Watt panels? Is big not better? And if I did, is there an easy way to invert power from 24volt to 12volt. Any recommendations or suggestions would be appreciated.

Bob

Comments

• Wanderman
    Wanderman Solar Expert Posts: 180 ✭✭✭
    Re: New to Forum

rnjpinz,
    I am far from an expert on this subject, but I would say if you had the space for larger wattage panels than take advantage of that and install them. Bear in mind you should check for shadowing and the like before you install them.

As for battery charging, you will want some kind of a charge controller. This device will take the voltage and current your panels are supplying and provide your battery bank with the correct values. You can easily charge a 12v bank with 24 volt panels with a controller. I recommend an MPPT controller, this will likely give you a percentage increase in efficiency.

Do a search on this forum for MPPT for MANY discussions about that type of setup.

Rick
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

The Number One question is: how big is the battery bank? If you intend to use solar panels as the sole charge source you will need sufficient PV's to recharge them in a reasonable amount of time. This will generally be based on the "20 hour" Amp hour rating of the batteries.