Question about motor(s)

Dear Fellow Wind Techies,

I'm a teacher and we're trying to make-- and use-- a small wind generator. I

was told that we could use a treadmill motor with blades attached to make a

wind generator. We inherited a treadmill, gutted it, and now we have a motor.

When we attached a "fan belt" from a drill to the motor, it put out -25.13 volts**

(**emphasis on minus voltage.)

QUESTION: Will this 120 volt motor work for making a 12 volt DC wind generator

without using an inverter?

QUESTION #2: If not, what's our next best CHEAP option? Unlike what many

think, my pockets aren't lined with gold...!

QUESTION #3: Does someone have a small (125 watt?) wind generator they

would kindly donate to my class so I can teach wind technology?

Thanks for your replies. Please e-mail me at [email protected]

Regards, Mark in NH

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Question about motor(s)

Motors don't make the best generators.

If you want to research home-made wind generators a good place to start is Otherpower.com: http://www.otherpower.com/

You might be better off with an automotive alternator for a starting point.
  • kenputer
    kenputer Solar Expert Posts: 27

If you want to charge 12 volt batteries the motor can be made to do that,you will need a blocking diode so the battery wont run the motor.
    A car alt. is the last thing you want to make a wind generator,best is high voltage low rpm PMDC motors for your project.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

Thanks for your reply. So where do I locate a PMDC motor at low ot no cost? What applications are they used for? Will the treadmill motor my students 'parted out' work (understanding that we need to use a blocking diode or a rectifier.)

I understand that car alternators require a much higher RPM before they output useable voltage. Is that accurate?