Feasibility of smaller turbines/higher wind speed

Arqane
Arqane Solar Expert Posts: 31 ✭✭
Obviously most generators are used for standard outdoor conditions, so maximizing their potential at 15-25mph will get the most bang for your buck.

I'm fairly new to the wind generation scene. At least seriously looking into it (and it's my first post, so hi :D). So I was wondering if anyone is knowledgeable about whether the science limits higher sustained speeds (35-75mph), or if that is more a factor of the materials being used.

Since I'm looking more at very small size generators, using heftier materials won't make as big a difference as it would on a 100ft. blade. I also read up on the new wind belt technology (http://www.humdingerwind.com/), which may be promising... but a cheap version you can make yourself would only apparently get 1 Watt per square meter or so. I'm not sure what their advances will get.

As for turbine technology, do you think it's possible to get 1kW+ at a sustained 50mph from a 3-5 foot diameter?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Feasibility of smaller turbines/higher wind speed

There are real limits to how much energy you can get from wind--Betz Law.

Realistically, from 6 m/s wind, you will get from a good quality turbine around 42 kWH per month per square meter...

Link you have will generate around 7.2 kWH per month per square meter... Only about 1/6th the amount from an equivalent turbine.
    • 7,200 WH per month / (30 days * 24 hours) = 10 watts at 6 m/s (or ~13.4 MPH)
    A standard windy open field at 10 meter elevation with average wind speed of 4.4 m/s (windy season) assuming wind energy cube of speed:
    • 7.2 kWH per month * (4.4/6)^3 = ~ 2.8 kWH per month at 4.4 m/s (9.8 MPH)
    • 10 watts * (4.4/6)^3 = ~ 3.9 watts at 4.4 m/s (9.8 MPH)
    Energy from wind goes with the cube of the speed... So, 50 MPH:
    • 10 watts * (50/13.4)^3 = ~ 520 watts per square meter (~10.76 sqft)