Solar Setup Help

Hi Guys,

Yes I am very new at this and want to make sure to install my newly coming system correctly.

1st: I am trying to completely run our water pump and a couple lights with a 240 watt solar system. We live in country so have well water. So I purchased (2) 120 watt solar panels from UL Solar, and a 20amp charge controller. Now what?......

1. How many batteries do you suggest, or how much amp's?

2. Do I run the batteries and keep 12 volt system, or do I turn it to 24 volt, or does that even matter?

3. Can a Inverter be installed so it runs consistantly? Our well pump house is in back yard, so do not want to have to turn on each time we need water. Just want the inverter to always be running and of course pump will kick in when we turn on faucets.

4. I suppose I should install a fuse box, which I am guessing is installed between the solar panels and the Charge Controller? If so what size fuse is recommended?

5. Any other tips greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys and sorry for the many noob questions.

Milezone

Comments

• KeithWHare
    KeithWHare Solar Expert Posts: 140 ✭✭✭
    Re: Solar Setup Help
    milezone wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

Yes I am very new at this and want to make sure to install my newly coming system correctly.

Milezone,

First, what size is your pump? Horsepower, watts, volts?

Second, where are you located?

Keith
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

For 240 watts of solar panel, the typical battery bank size is based on 5-13% rate of charge (20 Hour battery AH rating). Assuming 0.77 solar panel/charger efficiency:
    • 240 watts * 1/14.5 volts charging * 0.77 derating * 1/0.13 rate of charge = 98 AH @ 12 volts
    • 240 watts * 1/14.5 volts charging * 0.77 derating * 1/0.05 rate of charge =255 AH @ 12 volts