Grid tied system sorting through the options

NorthWalt
NorthWalt Registered Users Posts: 20
I am new to solar and am trying to decide on system components for a grid tied system in southern Ontario Canada at 42 degrees latitude. We want to take part in the microfit, feedin tariff program and so expect the system to be in the 10kW range. We have some things that make this site different than Arizona and more like Michigan or Wisconsin; snow, wind and low light in the winter.

So I have a number of questions about things like:
Fixed or tracker?

We are rural and so have space for either.
Trackers supposedly get 40% more production yet they look like they are often in safe mode (flat) and not pointed at the sun. This seems to be because of the wind.

We get a fair amount of wind from OHIO- south or Michigan- west as well as lake effect weather because of the Great Lakes. Average wind speed is 4.3 meters per second and range is 5.3 - 3.1

Another issue with trackers appears to be whether they track by bright spot or GPS. The bright spot aiming seems to be hard to configure properly and the GPS may be aiming at the darkest area of the sky when clouds are approaching. Do these problems reduce productivity significantly? How close in productivity are these two types of trackers? Seems like either way would work better in Arizona;).

What repair and maintenance costs should be projected over the next 20 years?

Are these 40% improved productivity claims true? For this Latitude and weather?

Is a ground mounted single axis system a good alternative for dealing with seasonal fluctuations and reducing costs initially and repair too? How would productivity compare to the tracker?

Thanks for responding to this with your experience.
________

Comments

• solar_dave
    solar_dave Solar Expert Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Grid tied system sorting through the options