Wacky problem, 36kW 6 SMA Inverters GFCI Cleared

Hi people. I'm new to this forum and just looking for a place to gain some insightful knowledge as through my career I've surpassed most of my sources for knowledge and experience.

So I'm just over 1.5 MW installed and I've run into my first problem where I'm truly stumped. Ground Fault experts please read on!

I have six SMA Inverters (despite 1.5MW this is my first time using SMA) powering 152 Sharp 240watt modules on the roof of a 10 story high rise. 108 of those are on a large rack and power 4 of the inverters. Their are 4 combiner boxes on the top of the rack easily accessible by a pent house roof. My equipment ground runs across the tops of my rails and split bolts into each combiner box, leaving the equipment ground headed back to the inverters and the system ground in 4 places. the Two combiners on the left and right side feed two SMA 5000US inverters (2X11 strings) and the two middle combiner boxes feed two SMA 7000US inverters (3x10 strings).

So yesterday during commissioning, I booted up the two SMA 5000US inverters and one of the 7000's and they all operated normally. The 2nd SMA 7000US blew it's ground fault fuse almost immediately upon turning it on. Going up to the combiner boxes, at first I registered two strings that wouldn't show voltage potential from positive to negative. We fixed what we thought were bad MC-4 connector terminations and the strings came up reading from Positive to Negative. However, NONE of the six strings total in those two middle combiners will register any voltage to ground, period, and one of those combiners feeds an inverter that maintained properly operating conditions for the 90 minutes it was on. The ground is clearly not open in both combiners, as it is connected both to the system ground through the inverter and also to the system ground through the solid #8 running across the rails and into the other combiners.