what kind of solar to start with??

dmew
dmew Registered Users Posts: 6

Im new to all of this and just want to start adding a few at a time with a grid tie inverter to start with. I thought about making my own but Im not going to risk it. if it was for my shop and so forthe I really would not care but its going on my house . I was looking at a few over at Sun Electronics Miami on the web site but the ones on ebay now. a few low cost 110w to 200w to start with

100 Watt Solar Panel GEPV-100
http://cgi.ebay.com/100-Watt-Solar-P...item255d784fa6

Solar Panel 110W SUN-ES-EC-110
http://cgi.ebay.com/Solar-Panel-110W...item5adc261a10

Solar Panel 100Watt DA100-A2
http://cgi.ebay.com/Solar-Panel-100W...item255d783f65

the volts seem really high on the last one

and what size of a grid tie inverter will I have to get to start with a few of them thanks any info would be great

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: what kind of solar to start with??

About the smallest grid-tie set-up you could have would be with an Enphase or similar micro-inverter. That would be 190-240 Watt panel. And all grid-tie has to be utility approved install, and may not be allowed in your area.

Do you have an end goal in mind? If you're looking to learn about solar power, you might consider experimenting with a small, battery-based DC-only set-up to provide power for a few lights or radio or such. Just so you get the hang of it, so to speak. :D
  • dmew

so I could not start with the smaller ones like 3 or 4 100 or 120 with say a 500 watt grid tie inverter? I live in ohio not sure where to find any info on it here look a few time but really cant find much.

I would like to in the end I would ike it to hel out with the bill here and there untill I can get the whole set up
  • Cariboocoot